02.17.10 Association News

AAMA recognizes member leadership during awards banquet

AAMA recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the 73rd Annual Conference Awards Banquet. Award presenters noted the importance of these contributions as they serve to further the industry as a whole.

2009 Outstanding Member Award – Kevin Seiling (VEKA, Inc.)
Kevin Seiling, director of engineering of VEKA, Inc. (Fombell, Pa.) was named Outstanding Member for 2009, as presented by the 2008 award winner, Dave Moyer (Architectural Testing, Inc.).

The Outstanding Member Award is given to an individual who has distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of AAMA and the industry as a whole.

Seiling currently participates in 35 AAMA committees and is currently serving as chair of four of these. Moyer stated that Seiling takes “personal initiative to ensure a better future for the industry as well as his own company.”

Seiling received a Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering from Pennsylvania State University and has more than 20 years of experience in the vinyl extrusion and building products industry. He is also the inventor of VEKAdeck™ and is the holder of several other patents. Seiling currently serves as the first vice president of AAMA’s Vinyl Material Council.

2009 Architectural Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Steven DeSutter (EFCO Corporation)
The 2009 Distinguished Service Award for the Architectural Products Group (APG) was presented to Steven DeSutter, structural engineering testing and certifications supervisor of EFCO Corporation (Monett, Mo.) by Steve Fronek (Apogee Enterprises), recipient of the 2008 award.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Group.

Fronek noted that DeSutter “generously volunteers both his knowledge and his time for the betterment of the organization and the industry.” He currently serves in various capacities on 16 AAMA committees and task groups, serving as chair for two of these, and has contributed formative work in the efforts towards an AAMA Green Certification Program.

DeSutter received an engineering degree from New Mexico State University and joined EFCO Corporation more than 15 years ago.

2009 Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Terry Abels (Chelsea Building Products)
The 2009 Distinguished Service Award for the Residential Products Group (RPG) was presented to Terry Abels, vice president of sales and marketing for Chelsea Building Products (Oakmont, Pa.), by Rich Walker, AAMA president and CEO.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Residential Products Group.

With over 30 years experience in the fenestration industry, Abels has worked in both the commercial and residential markets.

Abels actively contributes to topics ranging from updates to marketing brochures to the Southeast Region Technical Committee, as well as five AAMA councils. He also has worked with the AAMA Green & Sustainability Committee and the Renewable and Recycle Work Group, in addition to serving as facilitator for the AAMA Marketing Forum at each national conference. Abels has been a part of 32 total working groups within AAMA.

2009 Marketing Distinguished Service Award- Kim Flanary (Milgard Manufacturing)
The Marketing Distinguished Service Award for 2009 was presented to Kim Flanary, director of engineering for Milgard Manufacturing (Tacoma, Wash.).

This award was first presented last year to acknowledge a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing.

Joe Hums (Mikron, a Quanex company), who presented the award and was the 2008 winner, stated that Flanary, “is an avid supporter of AAMA marketing efforts,” and his efforts have been characterized by “looking to where the future of the industry lies, contributing to AAMA’s position on evolving cutting edge issues.”

Flanary initially participated in AAMA as part of the AAMA Western Region. He currently serves as Board President for that group, but broadened his efforts to AAMA national activities in 2005. He has worked diligently in AAMA marketing-related committees and task groups, as well as continued involvement in education development efforts. He currently serves as the co-chair of the AAMA Marketing Steering Committee that oversees all of AAMA’s marketing activities.

Additionally, chairs of AAMA task groups and other leaders were also recognized at the banquet. Walker commented: “It is vital to recognize the AAMA members who faithfully share their time, experience and knowledge to further the goals and initiatives at the task group and committee levels. The time and effort contribution of the membership plays an integral part in the continued success of the association.”

A full news release is available online at AAMA’s online news room.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: